Red Hot Chili Peppers: Coming to South Africa!

Seeing that Red Hot Chili Peppers (RHCP) will be touring South Africa in February 2013, I dedicate this post to the band.  It’s strange, I was actually talking about this band the other day with my friends, saying there is no chance in hell that they would ever come to our country.  Low and behold, on Monday 27 August 2012, our local radio station (5FM) announced that they will be touring here.  Well, I almost had a car accident when I heard that!

South Africa have never really been lucky enough to have huge international bands visiting us until more recently.  I will never forget the day Limp Bizkit cancelled their gig.  We all thought it was an April Fool’s joke, but sadly it wasn’t.  I was bitterly upset that day – would’ve been my first ever live show.  I was young, but that band was very popular at the time.  In actual fact, I still enjoy them.  Often listen to their music.  Since then, we’ve had bands such as The Killers, U2, Kings of Leon and coming up in November, Linkin Park.  Kings of Leon turned out to be my first live show.  I am glad I waited for them, they were fantastic.  I will never forget that night – blew me away!  I am upset that I will be missing Linkin Park, financially it was bad timing.

So when I heard that RHCP were coming, I told myself I am going to do anything to go see them – it would be a crime to not take this opportunity.  I managed to get tickets on the same day as the announcement from RHCP’s website, thanks to a good friend of mine who had organised for me.  They were selling only 10% of the total tickets.  Now, I am counting down the days until 5 February 2013, just like a school kid waiting for Christmas.  RHCP have never been to South Africa, which means that they should be playing most of their classics!

I’ve seen them live on a DVD…a few songs that were absolutely brilliant live are:

  • Under The Bridge
  • Californication
  • Give It Away
  • By The Way
  • Can’t Stop
  • The Zephyr Song
  • Otherside
  • Scar Tissue

I sincerely hope they play all of the above as it was my ultimate favourite era of the band!  In my opinion, older RHCP was not my favourite.  I am talking pre 1990’s.  This is mainly because I was too young then to appreciate their music.  As soon as I was old enough to create my own opinions on music, I started listening to them.  That must have been around 1999, when the album, Californication, was released.

RHCP themselves have been around a lot longer than that!  They formed in Los Angeles, USA in 1983.  Founding band members, Anthony Kiedis (vocals), Michael “Flea” Balzary (bass), Chad Smith (drums) and Josh Klinghoffer (lead guitar), are some what crazy and are natural entertainers.  Josh Klinghoffer replaced John Frusciante in 2009.  Frusciante had started concentrating on his solo career and is working on new album.

Without going into too much writing detail, have a look at this timeline below and you will see how many members this band actually had and how long each member’s time in the band was.  Bet you not many people knew this, I sure didn’t.  It’s not all that clear, but you can sort of make it out.

I think what makes this band so unique is their sound, their genre of music.  It’s an odd blend of punk rock, hard rock, rock, funk and alternative.  RHCP’s main influences, to name a few, were Jimi Hendrix, James Brown, Bob Marley, Queen, The Beatles and many more.  Anthony Kiedis provides numerous vocal styles, which also adds to the band’s unique reputation.  He helped the band maintain a consistent style and as the band matured, Kiedis developed a different style more recently through coaching.

Without a doubt, one the most talented, unique, legendary bands out there.  Yes, it is just my opinion but I know for a fact that there are many fans out there that feel the same as me, especially here in South Africa.

“Space may be the final frontier, But it’s made in a Hollywood basement,  And Cobain can you hear  the spheres, Singing songs off  station to station.” – Lyrics from Californication.

One of my all-time favourite songs, from any of my favourite bands!  I cannot wait for this show, I am ready…

About haphazardnessryan

I have an equal passion for movies, music and sports. Just a regular guy, wanting to share thoughts on random topics.
This entry was posted in Music/Bands/Artists. Bookmark the permalink.

What are your thoughts?

